Nevada Domestic Battery Law
The Nevada Revised Statutes provide a clear definition of battery:
NRS 200.481 Battery: Definitions; penalties.
“Battery” means any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another.
If battery is not committed with a deadly weapon and no substantial bodily harm comes to the victim, the perpetrator will be charged with a misdemeanor.
If the battery is not committed with a deadly weapon but the victim does sustain substantial bodily harm or the battery occurs with strangulation as part of the crime, the perpetrator will be charged with a category C felony.
If the battery is committed upon an officer, provider of healthcare, school employee, taxicab driver or transit operator in performance of their duties or a sports official at a sporting event, the perpetrator will be charged with a category B felony, carrying a sentence of no less than 2 years and no more than 10 in the state prison, a fine of not more than $10,000, or both imprisonment and a fine.
If a battery is committed upon any of these officials with a deadly weapon, the penalties vary. If no substantial bodily harm results, the perpetrator will be charged with a category B felony. Substantial bodily harm or strangulation will also carry a category B penalty, with potential enhanced sentencing including another 5 years imprisonment.
Battery constituted as domestic violence is unfortunately quite common and carries a different set of penalties. For the first offense with 7 years, the perpetrator will be charged with a misdemeanor and sentenced to imprisonment in the city or county jail facility for not less than 2 days and no more than 6 months and also perform between 48 to 120 hours of community service. A fine of $200 – $1,000 will also be applied. For the second offense in the same 7 year period, the person is guilty of a second misdemeanor and will receive increased jail time, community service, and a higher fine. If a third domestic battery incident occurs during the 7 years, the person is guilty of a category C felony and will be punished accordingly.
Convictions of battery determined to be domestic violence could also lead to further penalties, such as requirements to attend weekly counseling sessions that could last up to a year. These sessions will be paid for by the guilty. The court can also impose an administrative assessment of $35 to go into the Account for Programs Related to Domestic Violence. Depending upon the nature of the battery charge, the court can also require a violator to participate in alcohol or drug rehabilitation therapy.
Obviously these charges are serious and it is in the interest of the state to see that violators get help, especially in the domestic violence arena. If you or anyone you know is in this situation, you need someone who can get you the legal and possibly psychological or addictive counseling you need. You need a Las Vegas Criminal Defense Attorney.
Douglas Crawford Law is an expert in this field and can resolve the case in your favor!
Call me now at 702-383-0090.
Click if you want to learn about Robbery and hire a Las Vegas Robbery Attorney.
For more information on how https://douglascrawfordlaw.com can help you with Battery Under Nevada Law, please contact us, or visit us here:
Douglas Crawford Law
501 S 7th St, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Is domestic violence a felony in NV?
Did you know that domestic violence is a felony in Nevada? That’s right – any act of violence or threatened violence against a spouse, partner, or family member is considered a serious crime. If you’re convicted of domestic violence, you could face significant penalties, including jail time and fines. So if you’re facing allegations of domestic violence, it’s important to seek legal help right away. A qualified criminal attorney Las Vegas can help defend your case and protect your rights.
How serious is domestic battery?
Under NRS 200.485, battery against a current or former spouse is considered to be domestic violence. The law defines this as purposely applying unlawful physical force that can lead to injury with no consent from one’s victim(s). A 1st offense usually has penalties including fines, 48 hours community service, six months counseling sessions, and possibly even jail time depending on the severity of injuries sustained in relation back up until conviction
Is domestic violence a misdemeanor in Nevada?
In Nevada, domestic violence is considered a misdemeanor offense. This means that those who are convicted of domestic violence may face a number of penalties, including jail time and fines. However, it is important to note that the severity of the punishment will depend on a number of factors, including the nature of the charge and the defendant’s criminal history.
Is battery worse than domestic violence?
The battery is a very serious crime in Nevada. It can be worse than domestic violence because it can result in serious injuries or even death. If you are charged with battery, it is important to have an experienced lawyer on your side to protect your rights and get the best possible outcome in your case.
What does battery domestic violence mean?
Battery domestic violence is a crime that can be committed against anyone in a domestic relationship. This includes spouses, former spouses, cohabitants, or persons who have had a child in common. Battery domestic violence often includes physical and emotional abuse. If you are the victim of battery domestic violence, it is important to know your rights and get help. The attorneys at Douglas Crawford Law can help you file for a restraining order and protect your safety.
How do most domestic violence cases end?
In Nevada, domestic violence cases can end with a variety of outcomes. Some perpetrators are given probation or sent to jail, while others receive deferred sentencing. In some cases, the victim decides to drop the charges.
Which is worse battery or assault?
Battery is a more serious crime in Nevada than assault. Battery refers to the act of deliberately touching another person against their will, while assault charges involve an unlawful attempt at contact that doesn’t necessarily have physical force as its main ingredient ( NRS 200).
What does battery on spouse mean?
Battery is defined as a felony of domestic abuse. Battery on a spouse occurs when you intentionally perform an indecent physical contact against a spouse, significant other, or previous significant other.
What does battery mean in law?
In Nevada, a battery is any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon the person of another. When it comes to criminal law, battery is one of the most commonly charged offenses. This can be a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the severity of the incident.
What the difference between domestic and battery?
Under NRS 200.485. Any intentional, aggressive contact with a qualifying person is considered domestic battery under this legislation. To put it another way, domestic violence is the deliberate use of force against someone with whom you have a dating relationship.