Divorce Lawyer in Las Vegas, Nevada
Experienced Divorce Attorney in Las Vegas
If you live in Las Vegas, Henderson, Boulder City, Summerlin, Mesquite, or anywhere else in southern Nevada and are considering a divorce, as sad and/or necessary as that decision might be, you need to make sure you get the best representation to protect your rights, especially if children are involved.
You need a family law attorney in Las Vegas
The Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) provide specific guidelines to win a divorce. NRS 125 will be our roadmap for dissolving your marriage. I can answer any questions you might have before and during the process. Divorce in Nevada can be easy or quite complex—it depends upon you and your former spouse. Unfortunately, I have too much experience with this type of law. I have seen everything an ex-partner can throw at you, from simple requests to the meanest pettiness. I am an expert in this type of law and will protect your rights.
If you’re new to southern Nevada or the Las Vegas area, you only need to live here for 6 weeks before we can begin processing your divorce. Once we have filed on your behalf, winning a divorce decree can take as little as 6 weeks or up to 12 months. So long as the paperwork is sound, the judge should act swiftly.
Here’s an important thing to remember: there are many sites that claim to be “free” that will get you through your divorce quickly. While that may be true, these “free” sites do not always protect your full rights. Even if you and your soon-to-be ex agree on everything and file an uncontested divorce, the process can still be stalled because of paperwork errors or missed timelines. Even a simple mistake on a form can send you back to the beginning of the process. I am an expert in this type of law and do not make those kinds of mistakes. I can push paperwork through quickly and smoothly and arrive at a resolution for you without any speedbumps.
An uncontested divorce usually progresses smoothly. If your spouse contests your divorce, I will fight for the best resolution. Contested divorces can get messy. Nevada is a no-fault state, so it is in everyone’s best interests to move the process forward. But if your spouse contests the divorce, you certainly would benefit from legal counsel such as mine. You could be fighting over alimony, child support, adjudication of property rights, child visitation—any reason, really. The reasons for contesting a divorce can be as varied as the individuals involved. Usually these problems are easy to resolve, but sometimes not. The NRS has timetables for how and when paperwork must be submitted. If your soon-to-be ex is dragging the process down, he or she may be missing windows they need to hit with the courts and we can move on that and proceed fairly so you get the resolution you need to move forward with your life.
If children are involved, delays can hurt them. You deserve the best representation that will not hold them back. Every case I take becomes my priority. Whatever you’ve been through in your marriage, when it’s time for it to come to an end, you need an attorney who will get you what you and your family deserve. I will work for you and bring your divorce to as quick a conclusion as the law allows.
Hire me. I can be reached at (702) 383-0090
Click if you want to learn about Emancipation and hire a Las Vegas Emancipation Lawyer.
Areas in Nevada that I serve for Divorce cases are Summerlin, Green Valley, Henderson, Indian Springs, Laughlin, North Las Vegas, Pahrump, Spring Valley, The Lakes, Sunrise Mountain, and Southern Nevada.
For more information on how https://douglascrawfordlaw.com can help you with your divorce case, please contact us.
Douglas Crawford Law
501 S 7th St, Las Vegas, NV 89101
What is a wife entitled to in a divorce in Nevada?
Community property belongs to both spouses equally, so it must be split equally between the spouses at divorce. Likewise, all debts incurred during the marriage are considered community debts and both spouses are equally responsible for them.
How long does divorce take in Las Vegas?
In general, an uncontested divorce (called a joint petition in Nevada) can be over within one-to-three weeks. But a contested divorce is rarely over in less than three months. And if the assets are particularly complex, it can take significantly longer. In any case, Nevada has a six (6) week residency requirement.
Who gets the house in a divorce in Nevada?
In Nevada, property acquired during the marriage is community property, and must be divided (in most cases) equally, in a 50-50 split. With smaller assets, this can be a fairly straightforward process, but with the marital home, it can become more difficult.
Is Nevada a 50 50 state when it comes to divorce?
Nevada, is a community property, no-fault divorce state. … It means that in Nevada divorces, all marital property is subject to a 50/50 split, regardless of which spouses earned the money, and regardless of whose name is on the title.
Does it matter who files for divorce first in Nevada?
The first to file chooses the time frame and venue. The first to file can start protecting community property. The first to file can withdraw the divorce (if the other party has not responded yet) If there is a Nevada divorce trial, the first to file would go first and be heard last.
Can you divorce without the other person signing?
Applying for a divorce can be a difficult decision to make, especially if you’re not sure your partner will sign your petition. Crucially though, you don’t need your partner’s consent to get a divorce. Although it may be a long process if your partner doesn’t comply, they won’t be able to stop you indefinitely.
Can you get a quick divorce in Nevada?
The fastest way for a married couple to split in Nevada is for both spouses to file a joint petition for divorce in Nevada. Another term for this is an “uncontested divorce” or “two-signature divorce.” If everything goes smoothly, the Nevada divorce may be granted in as little as 10 days.
How much does a divorce cost in Nevada?
How much does it cost to file for a divorce in Nevada? The filing fee to start the dissolution of marriage process in Nevada is $326 for a Joint Petition and $364 for a Complaint. Fees may change from time to time, so you might want to check with your county courthouse to confirm what the exact costs are.
Can my wife just kick me out the house?
It is possible to legally force your spouse to move out of your home and stay away for a certain length of time. One can only get such a court order, however, if he or she shows assault or threats of assault in an emergency or the potential for physical or emotional harm in a non-emergency.
Can my wife put me out the house?
No, your wife cannot throw you out of your own house just because she doesn’t want you living there anymore. Even if she wants you out because she intends to get a divorce, she cannot demand that you leave your own home. … But your wife cannot throw you out of the house simply because she’s tired of you.