Las Vegas Child Abuse
Child abuse is a sad and terrible part of our world. The Nevada Revised Statutes contain detailed descriptions of what child abuse consists of:
NRS 200.508 Abuse, neglect or endangerment of child: Penalties; definitions.
A person who willfully causes a child who is less than 18 years of age to suffer unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering as a result of abuse or neglect or to be placed in a situation where the child may suffer physical pain or mental suffering as the result of abuse or neglect.
Child abuse is dealt with very seriously, as it should be. If substantial bodily or mental harm results to the child, if the child is less than 14 years of age and the harm is due to sexual abuse or exploitation, the perpetrator is guilty of a category A felony, or may be sentenced by a category B felony under different circumstances. If substantial bodily or mental harm does not occur to the child and the perpetrator has not previously been convicted, he or she is guilty of a category B felony, but if previously convicted is also guilty of a category B felony with enhanced penalties.
A person responsible for the welfare of a child who permits or allows the child to suffer is also liable for harsh penalties. Substantial bodily or mental harm to a child under the age of 14 will result in a category A felony if sexual exploitation or abuse was part of the act, potentially bringing a life sentence; if not, a category B felony will be applied, still bringing a potential sentence of 20 years. If the person responsible for the child has not previously been convicted of a crime and substantial bodily harm does not occur, the first offense will be treated as a gross misdemeanor; but if the person has previously been convicted, a category C felony will be applied.
This Statute covers other potential situations that could be considered abuse, as well. Bringing an injured child to an emergency room does not mean you will be charged with child abuse. Abuse is defined as a physical or mental injury of a non-accidental nature. Accidents happen. Medical professionals will be looking for signs of abuse and neglect and registering patterns, especially if the child has a record of emergency room attendance. Good parents doing the right thing by bringing their injured children in for medical attention when they need it should not worry but may want to consult with an attorney if questions are raised.
Depending upon the circumstances of the abuse and the larger social situation, the District Attorney may also require a perpetrator to attend counseling.
Whatever side of this awful situation you may find yourself on, you should seek out the best legal counsel for yourself and your family. Children deserve the healthiest environments in which to grow up. They are our future and we all benefit from their proper development. Our criminal defense lawyers in Las Vegas can help you.
Douglas Crawford Law is experienced in this type of law and can make sure you and your family get the help you need so as to give everyone the best future possible. Please call me now at 702-383-0090.
Click if you want to learn about What Defines A Battery Under Nevada Law? And hire a Las Vegas Battery Defense Attorney.
For more information on how https://douglascrawfordlaw.com can help you with What Constitutes the crime of Child Abuse, please contact us, or visit us here:
Douglas Crawford Law
501 S 7th St, Las Vegas, NV 89101, United States
What happens if you get charged with child neglect in Nevada?
Child abuse and child endangerment are both charged as gross misdemeanors in Nevada with a maximum penalty of $2,000 in fines and/or 364 days in jail if the defendant has no prior convictions for child abuse or child endangerment.
Is verbal abuse a crime in Nevada?
In Nevada, verbal abuse and emotional abuse can both be considered instances of domestic violence, which refers to the use of power, intimidation, or force to dominate someone.
What is considered abuse by a parent?
‘Neglect’ refers to any instance in which a parent, legal guardian, custodian, or other person charged with the child’s health and well-being does not take action to ensure that adequate food, clothing, shelter, medical care, or supervision are provided as a decent parent would.
What is the punishment for abusing a child?
Any person who commits any other act of child maltreatment, cruelty, or exploitation, or is responsible for the deterioration of a child’s condition that is prejudicial to his/her development may be sentenced to imprisonment from twelve years and one day to fourteen years and eight months.
What is considered abuse in Nevada?
Extreme or unexpected outbursts of temper, shouting, insults and humiliation; (i) Damage caused by a non-accidental cause such as an earthquake; (ii) Physical and mental harm resulting from abuse or maltreatment by persons in authority; (iii) Sexual abuse, sexual exploitation, negligent treatment, and child maltreatment are all defined under NRS 432B. 070, 432B. 100, 432B. 110 ,and 432B. 120.)
Can I call the police for verbal abuse?
If your spouse’s verbal abuse is criminal in nature, you must immediately report it to the authorities and let them know if you are afraid for your safety. Not all spoken interactions constitute domestic violence.
What are the signs or symptoms of child abuse or neglect?
This factsheet explains the legal meaning of child abuse and neglect, as well as various forms of abuse and neglect; it also discusses signs and symptoms of child maltreatment, including human trafficking. It also covers how to recognize and report maltreatment, as well as additional resources for children who have been injured.
What should I do if I suspect child abuse and/or neglect?
Every state has a mechanism in place to receive and respond to allegations of suspected child maltreatment. If you have concerns that a kid is being abused or neglected, you should contact the authorities in the state where child maltreatment is occurring, such as child protective services.
What is child abuse and neglect? How does my state define child abuse and neglect?
A recent act or inactivity by a parent or caregiver that results in death, significant physical or emotional damage, exploitation , or sexual abuse, as well as an activity or inaction that poses an imminently hazardous risk of serious harm.
Can I make an anonymous report of abuse?
It is everyone’s duty to report suspected child abuse and neglect. If you have any concerns about a youngster’s well-being, you should contact the authorities in the state where the kid resides. Trained professionals exist in each state that may assess the situation and rule whether intervention and services are required.